Rue d'Egmontstraat, 11 / B - 1000 Bruxelles
Tel. : +32.2.539.33.94 - Fax : +32.2.537.29.21
E-Mail :
Emile Francqui
Fondation d’Utilité Publique  –  Stichting van Openbaar Nut

Board of Directors



Count Herman Van Rompuy
Chairman emeritus European Council
Minister of State

Vice Chairmans

Baron Jean-Pierre Hansen
Honorary Chairman of Electrabel – Engie
Member of the royal Academy

Baron Mark Waer
Ererector Katholieke Universiteit Leuven
Voorzitter Unversitaire Ziekenhuizen KULeuven

Executive Director

Mr. Pierre Van Moerbeke Francqui Prize 1988
Professor emeritus at the Université Catholique de Louvain
Simons Foundation, New York


Mrs Valérie André
FRS / FNRS Research Director Humanities
Research Advisor at ULB
Professor at the Free University of Brussels
Member of the royal Academy

Count Boël
Chairman of the Board of Solvay SA

Baron Thierry Boon Francqui Prize 1990
Emeritus extraordinary Professor at the Université Catholique de Louvain

Mr Chris Buyse
Managing Partner
Fund+ (Life Sciences Research Partners)

Baron Désiré Collen – Francqui Prize 1984
Professor emeritus at the Katholieke Universiteit Leuven – Chairman Désiré Collen Foundation – Chairman Life Sciences Research Partners VZW

Count Claude d’Aspremont Lynden Francqui Prize 1995
Professor emeritus at the Université Catholique de Louvain – Member of the Center for Operations Research and Economectrics, Louvain-la-Neuve

Baroness Marie-Claire FobletsFrancqui Prize 2004
Professor at the Katholieke Universiteit Leuven and Director Max-Planck Institut fuer ethnologische Forschung,
Halle – Germany

Count Frédéric Francqui
Administrator of Enterprises

Baron Jan Grauls
Honorary Ambassador

Mrs Françoise Masai
Honorary vice Governor of the National Bank of Belgium

Mr Alexandre Sevrin
Ordinary Professor at the Vrije Universiteit Brussel – Theoretical physics
Guest Professor at the Universiteit Antwerpen and the Katholieke Universiteit Leuven
Vice director of the « Internationale Solvay Instituten voor Fysica en Chemie »

Mrs Sylviane Velu-Spreutels
Honorary adviser to the Court of Cassation

Mr Anton van Rossum
Director of compagnies
Former Chairman of the Supervisory Board of Erasmus University  Rotterdam

Erasmus Universiteit Rotterdam

Mrs Dominique Willems
Emeritus Professor at the Universiteit Gent
Member and Honorary Chairman of the « Koninklijke Vlaamse Academie van België »


Honorary Board

Mr Herman Balthazar
Honorary Governor of the Province of East Flanders
Professor emeritus at the UGent
Honorary Vice Chairman of the Francqui Foundation

Count Etienne Davignon
Minister of State – Vice President of Suez-Tractebel – Former Vice President of the Commission of the European Communities
Honorary Vice Chairman of the Francqui Foundation

Baroness Janine Delruelle-Ghobert
Honorary Senator – Judge emerita at the Constitutional Court

Viscount Mark Eyskens
Minister of State  – Former Prime Minister of Belgium – Professor emeritus at the KUL
Honorary Chairman of the Francqui Foundation

Baron Daniel Janssen
Honorary Chairman of the Board, SOLVAY S.A.

Advisory Board

Knight Emile Boulpaep
Chairman Belgian American Educational Foundation, Inc.

Professor at the Yale University, School of Medicine

Baron Jacques Brotchi
Honorary President of the Senate
Honorary Chief of the Neurochirugy at the Hôpital Erasme – Honorary President of the « Fédération Mondiale des Sociétés de Neurochirurgie » Emeritus Professor at the Université Libre Bruxelles

Baron Paul de Meester
Professor emeritus KUL
Honorary Chairman of BESIX

Mrs Régine Kurgan-Van Hentenryk
Honorary Professor at the ULB

Baron Niceas Schamp
Permanent Secretary of the Royal Flemish Academy of Belgium for Science and Arts 
Professor emeritus at the UGent

Baroness Greta Suetens-Bourgeois
Em. Judge, Supreme Court of Belgium 
Professor emerita at the KUL

Baron Piet Van Waeyenberge
Chairman of the Board DE EIK N.V.

Mr Joël Vandekerckhove
Emeritus Professor Universiteit Gent – Honorary Director VIB. – Dept. of Medical Protein Research