

Ceremony of the Francqui Prize by His Royal Highness Prince Philippe at the "Fondation Universitaire" on June 28, 2001

Curriculum Vitae - Report of the Jury



Philippe Van Parijs

Curriculum Vitae

Philippe Van Parijs studied philosophy, law, political economy, sociology and linguistics at the Facultés universitaires Saint Louis (Brussels) and the Universities of Louvain, Oxford, Bielefeld and California (Berkeley). He holds doctorates in the social sciences (Louvain, 1977) and in philosophy (Oxford, 1980).

He is professor at the Faculty of economic, social and political sciences of the Catholic University of Louvain (UCL), where he directs the Hoover Chair of economic and social ethics since its creation in 1991. He is also a Visiting Professor at Harvard University's Department of Philosophy since 2004 at at the KuLeuven's Higher Institute for Philosophy since 2006.

He also held visiting positions at the Universities of Amsterdam, Manchester, Siena, Québec (Montréal), Wisconsin (Madison), Maine (Orono) and Aix-Marseille, the European University Institute (Florence), the Russian Academy of Sciences (Moscow), the Federal University of Rio de Janeiro, the Chinese Academy of Social Sciences (Beijing), the Catholic Faculties of Kinshasa (Congo), All Souls College (Oxford), Yale University, Sciences Po (Paris), the Catholic University of Uruguay and the Autonomous University of Barcelona and the Ecole normale supérieure (Paris).

He is one of the founders of the Basic Income European Network (BIEN), which became in 2004 the Basic Income Earth Network, and he chairs its International Board. He coordinates the Ethical Forum of the University Foundation, as well as, with Kris Deschouwer, the Pavia Group initiative. He is a member of Belgium's Royal Academy of Sciences, Letters and Fine Arts, of the International Institute of Philosophy, and of the European Academy of Arts and Sciences and Fellow of the British Academy. In 2001, he was awarded the Francqui Prize, Belgium's most generous scientific prize. In 2007, a post stamp was devoted to him within the framework of a series ("This is Belgium") honouring nine outstanding Belgian scholars.

He is a member of the editorial boards of *Ethics, Journal of Political Philosophy, Economics and Philosophy, Politics Philosophy and Economics, Journal of Ethics, Critical Review of International Social and Political Philosophy, European Journal of Political Theory, Ethical Theory and Moral Practice, Ethical Perspectives, European Journal of Philosophy, Philosophical Explorations, Journal of Multilingual and Multicultural Development, Basic Income Studies, Egalitarian Theory and Political Practice, Journal of Applied Philosophy, Revue de philosophie économique, Raisons politiques, Raison publique, Ethiek en Maatschappij, Econômica and Sin permiso.*

His books include *Evolutionary Explanation in the Social Sciences* (1981), *Le Modèle économique et ses rivaux* (1990), *Qu'est-ce qu'une société juste?* (1991), *Marxism Recycled* (1993), *Real Freedom for All* (1995), *Sauver la solidarité* (1995), *Refonder la solidarité* (1996), *Solidariteit voor de XXIste eeuw* (1997), *Ethique économique et sociale* (2000, with C. Arnsperger), *What's Wrong with a Free Lunch?* (2001), *Hacia una concepcion de la justicia global* (2002), *L'Allocation universelle* (2005, with Y. Vanderborght), *Linguistic Justice for Europe and for the World* (in progress) and *Cultural Diversity versus Economic Solidarity* (as editor, 2004).

* * *

Report of the Jury (April 21, 2001)

The Jury comes to a consensus and proposes M. VAN PARIJS should be awarded the Francqui Prize 2001.

The conclusion of the Jury is formulated as follows:

Having deliberated the contributions of a field of outstanding candidates of well deserved international reputation, it has been proposed that the Francqui Prize for the year 2001 be awarded to Professor Philippe VAN PARIJS.

Philippe VAN PARIJS is one of the foremost philosophers of social justice in the contemporary world. He combines a high level of philosophical illumination, based on a variety of disciplinary insights, with an engagement in issues of human well being of immense practical importance at an international level as well as in Belgium. His work is widely regarded by scholars who have the highest eminence in their different fields of philosophy, politics and economics. Numerous symposia and critical studies have been devoted to his work. VAN

PARIJS has brought the quality of Belgian scholarship and scholarly engagement with the world to the most eminent circles of the community of the intellect.

Jury members:

Professor Renée C. FOX Ph.D.

Annenberg Professor Emerita of the Social Sciences University of Pennsylvania USA

Chairman

and

Professor John BELL

School of Social Sciences and Law University of Leeds UK

Professor Lucien BELY

Professor of Modern History University of Paris - Sorbonne Paris - France

Professor Samuel BOWLES

Director of Economics Program Santa Fe Institute University of Massachusetts Amherst, MA - USA

Professor Russell DAVIDSON

GREQAM Centre de la Vieille Charité Marseille - France

Professor Hadyn D. ELLIS

School of Psychology and Pro Vice-Chancellor Cardiff University

Professor Gerda HASSLER

Philosophische Fakultät Institut für Romantik Potsdam - Germany

Professor G.W. HUMPHREYS, Ph.D.

School of Psychology University of Birmingham UK

Professor Morton I. KAMIEN

Kellogg Graduate School of Management MEDS Department-Northwestern University Evanston, IL - USA

Professor Gerard KEMPEN

Departement Psychologie Leiden University The Netherlands

Professor Dickrank KOUYMJIAN

Haig & Isabel Berberian Professor of Armenian Studies Director, Armenian Studies Program California State University Fresno USA

Professor Torsten PERSSON

Director, Professor of Economics Institute for International Economic Studies Stockholm - Sweden

Professor Gary C.W. SHYI, Ph.D.

Department of Psychology Center for Research in Cognitive Science National Chung-Cheng University Taiwan, R.O.C.

Professor Heinz-Elmar TENORTH

Der Vizepräsident für Lehre und Studium Humboldt Univerität zu Berlin Germany

* * *